Workshop Series

The emerging 5th generation and beyond wireless systems will experience a significant increase in the number of connected devices and high volume of data traffic. Additionally, high traffic load variations among heterogeneous network cells over time pose an extra challenge, due to the possible asymmetric traffic and dynamics between the uplink and downlink communications. Full-duplex (FD) technology, by which devices transmit and receive simultaneously on the same frequency band, can potentially double the spectral efficiency and allow a more flexible use of the spectrum, therefore making it a  promising technology for future wireless networks. However, FD radios suffer from severe self-interference (SI), as well as extra cross interference between the uplink and downlink caused by simultaneous transmissions, which further degrades the overall network performance. To this end, many research groups around the world have proposed new transceiver designs, implemented advanced FD prototypes and have shown that SI can be suppressed almost down to the noise floor. Recently, some realistic field trials have already been completed in order to bring FD technology a step closer to practice. All these accomplishments show the feasibility of FD and its applicability for future wireless networks. Despite these fundamental results and achievements, still there are many challenges and open problems to resolve on FD operation. In order to achieve the full potential of FD transmission, it is necessary to cope with the self-interference and develop new mechanisms and efficient protocols, while reducing the energy consumption due to the required additional hardware.

The series of Workshop on Full-Duplex Communications for Future Wireless Networks is a biannual scientific discourse and dialogue between industry and academia that started at IEEE ICC 2017 to present the latest original research on FD techniques, protocols, and applications exploring all aspects of future wireless network design.

Original research articles are solicited in, but not limited to, the following areas:

  • Advanced antenna and transceiver designs for full-duplex
  • Experimental evaluation of full-duplex transceivers and networks
  • Advanced self-interference cancellation techniques for full-duplex
  • Modelling of self-interference and channel measurements for full-duplex
  • MIMO and mmWave full-duplex transceiver design
  • Performance analysis of full-duplex transceivers, systems and networks
  • New full-duplex MIMO techniques for multiuser interference cancellation
  • Non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) and full-duplex techniques
  • Physical layer security and full-duplex techniques
  • Full-duplex relaying and cooperative communications
  • Cognitive radio and full-duplex techniques
  • Full-duplex techniques with wireless power and energy harvesting
  • Full-duplex device-to-device and M2M communications
  • Full-duplex small cell deployments and heterogeneous networks
  • Ultra-reliable low-latency MAC and routing protocols for full-duplex networks
  • Cross-layer design and virtualization for full-duplex networks
  • Resource allocation, medium access control, and scheduling for full-duplex systems

Papers from the 5th Workshop, held at IEEE ICC 2019, have been recently published in IEEE Xplore (see links here). The ETI organizes the 6th Workshop at IEEE ICC 2020, Dublin, Ireland, and the workshop series will be eventually transformed into a Selected Areas in Communications (SAC) track at IEEE ICC 2021, Montreal, Canada, as approved by the Globecom/ICC Technical Content Committee. The full program of the previous workshops, as well as papers with links, are available below:

The committee members of the workshop series are available below:

Organizing Committee:

Hirley Alves, University of Oulu, Finland

Melissa Duarte, Huawei Technologies, France

Dani Korpi, Nokia Bell Labs, Finland

Ioannis Krikidis, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

Taneli Riihonen, Tampere University, Finland

Himal A. Suraweera, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka

Nghi H. Tran (publicity), University of Akron, USA

Steering Committee:

Robert Schober, Friedrich–Alexander University Erlangen–Nürnberg, Germany

Mikko Valkama, Tampere University, Finland

Risto Wichman, Aalto University, Finland

Technical Program Committee Members (non-exhaustive list):

Osama Amin, Lauri Anttila, Andrew C. M. Austin, Alexios Balatsoukas-Stimming, Jose Mairton Barros da Silva Jr., Edgar Eduardo Benitez Olivo, Daniel W. Bliss, Glauber Brante, Batu Krishna Chalise, Wan Choi, Ali Cagatay Cirik, Daniel Benevides da Costa, Richard Demo Souza, Evelio M. G. Fernandez, Mark F. Flanagan, Gabor Fodor, Gustavo J. Gonzalez, Mohammad Galal Khafagy, Muhammad R. A. Khandaker, Leo Laughlin, Kate Ching-Ju Lin, Roberto Lopez-Valcarce, Mohammadali Mohammadi, Carlos Heracles Morais de Lima, Diana Pamela Moya Osorio, Derrick Wing Kwan Ng, Nikolaos Pappas, Constantinos Psomas, Rukhsana Ruby, Jose Candido Silveira Santos Filho, Aydin Sezgin, Arman Shojaeifard, Besma Smida, Hina Tabassum, Omid Taghizadeh